The Halfway Point – March 2017

 

Thankfully, my reading speed is finally back to normal! The problem is that I’m halfway through SO many books that I’m under a lot of pressure to finish them all 😦

Hit the images to head to the Goodreads page for each title 🙂 As with all halfway points, this post will be spoiler free and is designed to let you know if the journey is just as good as the destination 😉

Shelter
Jung Yun25658832-_uy400_ss400_.jpg

This one’s been on my TBR since it came out. There are so many positive reviews, that going in, I was a little apprehensive – but fortunately, it has been excellent so far. I can’t say much in regards to the story, however it is incredibly gripping.

The novel itself is quite short, very easy to read, and the action starts from page 4 – which I really appreciate (I’ll mention why below in my discussion of the People in the Trees). I’ll probably have this one done in no time.

Not having a great relationship with my parents myself, I can really relate with the main character, Kyung. It touches on a lot of issues in regards to empathy in Asian immigrant families in the western world, which I  won’t talk about in depth here. That’s a whole other can of worms.


The Well of Ascension
Brandon Sanderson51cnr7lubnl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

This is the second novel in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy – one of the many storylines in his ginormous Cosmere universe. Every book in this series is nice and juicy – averaging at about 700 pages each. Sanderson’s writing and storytelling is SO compelling that the page count doesn’t matter so much to me. If anything, I’m grateful. There’s so much of this world to enjoy and I love it.

The Well of Ascension is definitely slower, in a sense, than the first in the series, The Final Empire. Naturally, once the main antagonist has been defeated, all there is left to do is stabilise the new empire – which is what this book is all about. I’m about 75% in, and so far I’ve read a lot of politics and culture. If you’re like me and love world building, this one won’t be as bad as so many people are saying.


Colourless Tsukuru Tazaki and his Years of Pilgrimage
Haruki Murakami

murakami-colourless-with-stickers-copy-2-copy.jpg

Started this one today, and took a break at the 100 page mark to write this actually! Murakami is my all time favourite author, and I often go back to him if I need a palate cleanse.

Colourless so far follows most of the same Murakami Tropes, leaning more towards Norwegian Wood in terms of storyline. that being said, personally I don’t reach for Murakami for story.

I feel like this one won’t be one of my favourites, however I do love diving back into Murakami’s world regardless.

 

 


A Darker Shade of Magic22055262
V.E. Schwab

The beginning of this one was pretty confusing for me. I tend to shy away from reading blurbs and try to read excerpts instead, but unfortunately I could not for the life of  me figure out what was going on until I read the blurb.

Fortunately at the half way point, things started to make sense. The book is written in a style where you jump back and forth between characters every few pages, but it seems to become a little more stable about half way through.

Overall, I’ve been enjoying ADSOM and  I think the premise is great. I do think that the reader could be let in a little easier, but this may be a result of by Sanderson burn.


The People in the Trees220px-the_people_in_the_trees
Hanya Yanagihara

I really love Yanagihara’s ability to create such deep characters. Though The People in The Trees may seem like an exploration book on the outside, it seems as if it is more of a character study so far. I’ll admit that I’m struggling to separate myself from the need to have a fast paced story (a habit developed through reading way too much YA), so this one’s dragging for me a little bit. So far, I wish there was a bit more science involved, since that was what caught my eye in the first place, but our main character is definitely interesting. He’s the  unreliable narrator – kind of gives Lolita (Vladimir Nabokov) vibes

I feel like I may have to return to this one at a later date… again, when I’m not suffering from Sanderson burn.

Leave a Reply

