#theunpopularbooktag

shrug224.jpgNot going to lie, I hauled some incredible books over the weekend at my local book fair, YET, ALAS, here I am… in a book slump. Since I wasn’t too keen to upload an image of myself doing the classic pose for this tag, I give memes instead

MEMES, BEAUTIFUL MEMES


A popular book or series you didn’t like

Pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before, but pretty much everything by Sarah J Maas that I’ve read so far (Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses). And it’s not like I didn’t try, because I really did! I loved the world that she established in Thorns and Roses, but the love triangle and the weak characters came along and I nope-d right outta there.

A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

This one’s hard – I haven’t come across much hate for any book really. I guess my only submission for this question would be pretty much anything by Haruki Murakami (my all-time favourite author). I’ve found that magical realism isn’t super popular, and I can understand why. Murakami’s novels are weird, vague and very open to interpretation… but those are the same reasons why I love them. Going through the ending discussion threads on Goodreads for any of Murakami’s books is probably one of the best parts of the experience. People pick up and interpret his stories in so many different ways, each as equally valid and reasonable, and you find yourself with so much more than the pages within the covers.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP you didn’t like

99% of the time I run into a love triangle, I drop the book and walk away. A love triangle is NOT a good plot device and just tells me that you’ve got nothing more interesting to talk about. I can’t stand romance, but I would take a monogamous relationship that develops into a stronger one, than a love triangle any day.

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

As mentioned above, I can’t stand romance. It’s hard for me to find myself relating to characters unless they’re written exceptionally well, to the point where I become so enveloped in their personalities that I’d actually care about their romantic situation.

I think romance in general is way too dramatized, especially and unfortunately in YA. Plot should never rely on 10 day old romance – in books AND real life. (Be smart with your heart!)

A popular character that you do not like

All the boys except for quiet boy (ya know, the scholarship boy) from the Raven Boys. The fact that I can’t remember any of their names despite reading the book under a month ago proves that they’re not that special. Trope boys.

 A popular author that you can’t seem to get into

I think I’ve given enough slack to SJM, so I’ll give this one to Marie Lu. I thought the premise of the Young Elites series was really awesome… but her execution was a bit weak. I really wanted to get stuck into her writing, but it definitely lacks depth and I found myself forcing my way through. I picked up Legend on the weekend, but it doesn’t look like my opinion is going to change.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

Love. Triangles. Get. Out. Of. My. Life.

Also, the whole rag-tag group of misfits get special powers and band together to take over the kingdom/destroy the social system/become royalty. I think one of the best things about the Six of Crows series was the fact that the characters lived inside the world, as just average (kinda) people. The world was so much better established by them just living within it and though their actions didn’t change the world, they were still so important and made such a good story. Operations of great scale don’t always equal great reads.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading

My best friend would dump me if she saw this… I’m going to say, all the series by Cassandra Claire. From the bits of City of Bones that I read, I can tell that her writing wasn’t its best at that time. I asked my best friend if starting at Lady Midnight was fine to do without reading the rest, and she said absolutely not. Which means I’ll have to skip this one unfortunately.

On top of that, the Firebird series (ie. A Thousand Pieces of You), the Passenger series… and I’m still undecided on the Southern Reach Trilogy. Annihilation nearly made me face-palm myself into oblivion.

The saying goes, “the book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or TV show adaption do you prefer more than the book

I’m going to cheat here, seeing as I haven’t read many books that have been adapted…

Riverdale, based on the Archie comics, has started out FANTASTICALLY. Even though it has that corny, teenage feel to it… the twists to the original story are so, so, so, so good and I’m really excited for the rest of this season!

As for another cheaty answer, I’ll drop a few anime titles in here; Ouran Highschool Host Club (all time favourite), Gangsta and Nozaki-Kun. I do find the cute, slice of life-y ones tend to shine more in anime format.

Woo! That was hard, but really fun! Gave me a legitimate reason to bitch and moan for once 😉

Leave a Reply

