Series Review: Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo
Goodreads Links:
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

No mourners, no funerals.

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.


I CANNOT PRAISE THIS SERIES ENOUGH.

I try to show at least a bit of modesty when it comes to recommending books to others, but man, this series is a straight up masterpiece.

To summarise, the Six of Crows series is set in the Grisha universe, initially staged in The Grisha trilogy, also by Leigh Bardugo. It isn’t necessary to have read The Grisha series first, though I do think that you’d have a much easier time getting through the SoC series as the universe and magic system are very well established and not thoroughly explained.

For those of you that have read The Grisha trilogy, you’ll find that SoC is a fantastic display of Bardugo’s maturing style as a writer. While SoC is still very much YA, the plot is undoubtedly stronger than many adult literature titles I have experienced thus far.
What I loved most is that Bardugo took every aspect of the universe and used it to her advantage. You’ll often find that many titles offer a very narrow perspective of the world, basing a narrative on the doings and sayings of main characters. Bardugo amplifies character, culture, fictitious religion, government, family and even economy, and brings it together to develop a sense of complete immersion that is hard to beat. At no point throughout the series did I find the plot slowed down or unentertaining.

If you love love, if you love action, if you love devious bad-assery, then please please please read this series!

SPOILER SECTION – SERIOUSLY, DON’T ENTER UNLESS YOU’VE READ IT BECAUSE I WILL SPOIL WHAT IS AN AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING PLOT.

Lets take a second to talk about Matthias.

The only thing I can complain about is his lack of presence in Crooked Kingdom, and then him out of nowhere having the most unheroic, un-Matthias-like death. I feel like after the Ice Court raid, there wasn’t much for him to do other than fill out the body-guard part of the group. Don’t get me wrong here, I love Matthias. He and Nina were my favourite ship and I loved that even to the last minute he stayed true to Djel and was resentful for his crimes against his country… but come onnnnnnn… What a flat ending to such an important character!
I can see Nina turning into some evil grisha that controls the dead and wears a black hood and goes out to get justice on anyone who wronged her and Matthias… that’s a pretty cool concept. Though, I do feel so, so, so sorry for her. 😦

JESPER AND WYLAN THOUGH. CAN I JUST SAY I CALLED IT FROM THE VERY BEGINNING!!! I would have LOVED to see more of that progression towards the end of the book, but it certainly didn’t stop me from shamelessly fist-pumping in public. Too. Fucking. Cute.

Kaz and Inej time! I definitely love these two, but I think them being apart was definitely the right thing to end on. I absolutely appreciate that Bardugo kept true to both their characters. Inej had a dream, Kaz had a purpose, and they stuck to it despite their longing for each other.

Bittersweet, but what I think is a right ending to this freaking fantastic series. I couldn’t have asked for more.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

